Can I use regular gas in Volkswagen?

Posted on April 4, 2011, in 2011, 2012, Beetle, Cabrio, CC, EOs, GLI, Golf, Golf R, GTI, How to, Jetta, Passat, Routan, safety, TDI, Tiguan, Touareg, Volkswagen. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Jay, thanks for the great info. I didn’t know that the TSI and FSI differed that way in fuel requirement/use. I always use premium (93 or 91) in my FSI just because I think it is cheap insurance to pay about $200 more a year for premium than to chance using regular (87 or even 89), which is a question often asked in VW web forums. Just one comment. You said toward the end of the video that premium gas is “cleaner”. I believe that this is not accurate. Any gas of any grade that meets Top Tier gasoline requirements has the same additives to control deposits, corrosion, etc. Some refiners may add a proprietary additive, but they all have to meet basic deposit control requirements for all octane levels. The only difference is in octane levels which help to prevent damaging “knock”, especially in some turbocharged or high performance engines. Check out http://www.toptiergas.com. Very interesting and actually recommended by Volkswagen in the owners manual. This info is located in booklet 3.2, page 41 of the 2008 VW GTI (FSI) owners manual. Of course, as you said, if premium is “required” for your engine, you must always use it; if it is recommended, an occassional shot of regular in emergency situations is OK, but as you said, it will reduce performance and possibly lead to damage (in FSI).

  2. Matthew Hubbard

    Jay, thank you very much for clarifying this. I have been doing alot of research to try and figure this out, and you clarified it perfectly, by engine no less. I am planing on buying a 2011 GTI and I had already planned on going with premium because I figured I would break even, but knowing that I can use Regular without long term serious damange is good to know.

    To Dubfun, I could be wrong, but from what I understand, many fuel makers put MORE than the required amount of cleaners in the premuium fuel. All may be clean, but if the extra cleaners that they are putting into Premium make a difference, then could not Premium be considered cleaner? This would of course depend on who is making the fuel and how and would differ between companies. Can some one check me on this?

    Again, thank you for answering this question.

  3. I have a 2001.5 Passat with 1.8T which has been running on regular for the past ten years. It now has 122,000 miles on it and still runs as it did when it was new. The owner’s manual “recommends” premium fuel but doesn’t require it. I might be losing a few horsepower but I don’t really care. The car is faster than any comparable, normally aspirated 4 cylinder car. And it’s faster than a lot of sixes too.

  1. Pingback: Inside line 2010 GTI Dyno Test: Regular vs Premium Fuel « Ask a VW salesguy's Blog

Leave a Reply

