Find a new use for your iPod adapter with MDI attachments

Posted on March 27, 2011, in 2011, 2012, blackberry, Cabrio, Canada, CC, drivergear, EOs, GLI, Golf, Golf R, GTI, How to, Iphone, Jetta, Navigation, Passat, Radio, Smartphones, sportwagen, Tech, Tiguan, Touareg and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. 2012 VW CC R-line…any idea why while playing my iPod, it switches to AUX from Media-In…which is bad because the controls are rendered useless. Sometimes it quickly switches back but sometimes won’t until the car is off for a time.

  2. Yes, my sportwagen 2010 TDI does this as well, once every blue moon. Once car is off for a few minutes and then restarted – it recognizes it again.

  3. My 2010 CC Sport does the same thing. It returns to normal after 10 seconds or so, without recycling vehicle power. I’m assuming it’s an iPod issue.

    • Mine will do it sometimes and stay that way for a real long time. I just then switch to SAT radio and don’t even bother, which sucks.

      Any resolutions out there???

  4. So I want to install a Tomtom car kit for the iphone to my 2010 GTI. The car kit has a mini usb and an external audio connection (3.5mm). Is there a way to connect these connections to the MDI of my VW so I will be able to control the music from the main car system?

Leave a Reply

