Officially official: Jetta SportWagen files for divorce

After months of rumors and speculation Volkswagen has finally agreed to let the Jetta and the Sportwagen go their separate ways. Starting in August when the 2011 models goes on sale The Jetta Sportwagen will distance it self from the Jetta line up and become simply the “SportWagen” .

There are other changes along with the name change, the panorama roof is no longer  available on the S model, multifunction steering wheel becomes standard on SE and TDI, and two new packages have been added to SE and TDI models:

Panoramic Sunroof & 17” Alloy Wheels — power tilting & sliding panoramic sunroof & 17” Porto alloy wheels w/ all-season tires for $1,750

Premium Package — power tilting & sliding panoramic sunroof, RNS 315 touch-screen navigation system, MDI w/ iPod® cable, & 17” Porto alloy wheels w/ all-season tires for $2,550

Look for the 2011 Volkswagen Sportwagen to arrive in August at your local dealership starting at $19,825 before destination.

Posted on June 30, 2010, in 2011, 9w7, First look, Jetta, sportwagen, TDI and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the update dude. Still a shame they dont offer a factory Bi-xenon headlamp option. Considering this car is made in Mexico, the build cost should be far less when compared to the Golf that DOES offer Bi-xenon headlamps.

    VWoA you confuse me…

  2. I believe you can order Xenon headlights for the sportwagon (golf variant) in Europe. It was quite pricy though! (1400€ ???)

  3. Hi, can anyone tell me if I can add the backup camera option to the 2011 Sportwagen? (I’ve seen in other cars that it shares the same screen as the GPS).

    Thanks!

  4. Does anyone know if the new “Premium Package” is in lieu of individual options? I’ve configured a 2010 Sportwagen TDI on the VW website and loaded it with all of the options with the exception of the panoramic sunroof. The sunroof screen has perforations which still allow light through which i find irritating (they should really use a solid fabric). So, I’d like to know if I’ll be forced to have the sunroof in order to get all of the other options.

    • yes the 2011 premium pkg includes the sunroof

      • Yes, it’s just been my experience that a lot of car manufacturers make these trim packages and then eliminate your ability to select individual options. That’s really my question…can I select all options without the sunroof or will VW only offer these packages?

  5. I can’t imagine you can’t order what you want individually.. I am pretty sure the premium package just gives you a better deal if you want all of the options.

  6. Does anyone know if in the 2011 it’s going to be available the option for the front fog lamps?, in Mexico you can get it with fog lamps, bixenon with AFS, Auto on/off lamps, and as far as I know it’s built there.

  7. Corey Beilstein

    What’s the latest on the 2011 Passat +/- wagon. In an earlier video, Mr. Pichardo says a VW memo indicated no 2011 Passats. “Get final 2010 orders in now.”

    Autoblog and a few others show spyshots of the “roomy rump” 2011 Passat wagon getting tested under camouflage coverings. Will it come to the US? Any chance of a TDI Passat wagon? Mr. Pichardo – any hints from recent VW communications?

    Thanks!

  8. Todd :
    Yes, it’s just been my experience that a lot of car manufacturers make these trim packages and then eliminate your ability to select individual options. That’s really my question…can I select all options without the sunroof or will VW only offer these packages?

    the 2011 Premium pkg only contains:
    sunroof
    17″ wheels
    RNS 315 nav

    you can only get the sunroof individually… if you want the nav or the Porto alloys, then you’re forced into the sunroof

    • I didn’t get the premium pkg on my 2011 because I didn’t want the sunroof for the same reason as Todd. But now I wish I had the 17″ wheels… I am having a bit of buyer’s remorse as my new sportwagen doesn’t drive like my old sportwagen. How late is too late to upgrade to 17″ wheels? Can my dealer do this? And will it make that much of a difference in the way it drives/rides?

Leave a Reply

