How to replace the RCD510 with the RNS510

here is a step by step guide by Futurell

Posted on June 11, 2010, in bluetooth, CC, EOs, First look, Golf, GTI, How to, Iphone, Jetta, Navigation, Passat, Radio, sportwagen, TDI, Tech, Tiguan, Volkswagen. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I have a 2010 Jetta TDI with the RCD510. I’m looking to swap it for the RNS510 – I see that Futurell did the swap in a GTI. Are there any additional parts needed for a swap in the Jetta TDI or will it plug and play just fine?

  2. Richard Crego

    I have 2010 Eos. I assume you remove the silver trim around the RCD 510. Correct? Should I buy trim removal tools? Also, does the compass have to be disabled and the airvent removed like in the video?
    Thanks

  3. I have a 2010 cc sport with I assume rcd510. Is there anyway to connect a backup camera to it? Ther is a unit made in the Chinese market that supposively makes this possible. Any ideas?

    thanks

  4. Had the dealership (Greenbrier VW) do the upgrade for my 2009 CC. Went from
    a Premium 7 to RNS-510. Service department had issues which was not due to coding.
    I keep getting an ANTENNA fault when I select Sat Radio. Found on a differnt blog that this type install required an adapter/extension cable because of a connector issue. This was on a Tiquen. Cable runs from Sat decoder under seat to the head unit. Is this the case with a 2009 CC?

  5. how do i do the “coding” the rns510 needs to work properly, can they do it in the dealership??

  6. Hi Jay. I have a Tiguan SE with an RCD510. I was wondering if my car has a “media in” outlet anywhere? I saw my BF control his Ipod from the screen. He has a special cable by VW and that “media in” outlet. Any info on that? I heard of BT Audio too, but my Ipod cant find the connection. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

