Differences between Volkswagen radios

Here a breakdown of the main differences between the VW radios available for 2011

Posted on April 24, 2010, in 2011, CC, EOs, Golf, GTI, Jetta, Navigation, Radio, sportwagen, Tech, Tiguan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I just picked up a used 2010 Tiguan with the RCD 510. Disappointingly enough, the dealer told me its impossible to get the bluetooth installed after production. Is this true? Is there a work around or another unit I can install?

    • Your 2010 Should have Bluetooth already

      • I bought a brand new 2010 Tiguan a month ago that came with the RCD 510 and it doesn’t have bluetooth installed. I am looking for the same solution. Now I’m wondering if it’s because living in Toronto, Canada that the models are different here?

        Thanks for the wicked continuous V-Dub info Jay!

  2. I have a 2010 Passat sedan with the RCD 510. When I turn up the volume, between 19 and 30, there is not an increase in the sound output. I have tried moving both the max volume and SDVC-GALA all the way to the right and still the volume level will not increase beyond level 19. Would you please educate me on the specific functions of these 2 sliders and how each is suppose to work.
    There is only very vague info in the manual and nothing on the ‘net to explain these features.
    I like LOUD! I want Bass!
    Thanking you in advance for your help regarding my quite radio….

    • Are you using the aux or iPod dock? There is a max setting for those too

      • Hello Jay,
        I am not using either just satellite, CD and radio.
        Thanks for the video on the SDVC.
        Would you please create one to explain the “Maximum Volume Control” slider. I do not understand it’s function. You can crank it all the way however when you switch it to CD for instance it quiets itself to a much lower volume output.

  3. Do all four of these radios support HDRadio?
    RNS-510 = Yes, w/subchannels
    RCD-510 = ?
    RNS-310 = ?
    RCD-310 = ?

    Got my eye on a 2011 Golf TDI & would be bummed if I couldn’t get factory HDRadio support… 😐
    TIA,
    — dv

  4. This is good blog message, I will keep this in mind. If you add more video and pictures because it helps understanding 🙂

  5. Just got a new 2011 TDI Sportwagon and loving it so far. I’ve been playing around with the RNS 315 nav/radio and can’t seem to figure out how to toggle through my preset stations using the steering wheel buttons. When I am playing a preset Sirius station, for example, I would like to be able to toggle to other presets without using the radio controls or touch screen. However, if you press the arrow buttons on the steering wheel, it just skips to the next higher station (rather than the next preset). There is something about how to do this in the user manual, but it isn’t totally clear as written. Thanks.

  6. Jay, my girlfriend got a 2010 Golf with a pretty basic radio, would it be really expensive to have VW replace it with one of the satellite enabled units? Thanks.

  7. we just bought a 2010 jetta tdi, we thought it had a RNS 510 turns out it is a Rosen deck that isn’t working with the bluet tooth. The dealer states they no longer can get a RNS 510, is this true?

Leave a Reply

