The Volkswagen gas pedal and brake override system

Posted on February 2, 2010, in EOs, Golf, GTI, Jetta, Passat, safety, Tech, Tiguan, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Hi Jay—great of you to spend the time on these videos. I’ve learned a lot. So I saw this video about the brake pedal override and I tried it on my wife’s new 2010 Tiguan SEL. I had the car in neutral and no matter how hard I depressed the brake, I couldn’t get it to stop or slow the accelerator, when I had them both down. A little worrisome. Or does this only work when the car is in drive? Seems like you’d want to have it operational all the time.

  2. This is a great technology to have and glad VW has included this in everyone of its vehicles. And has had it for quite some time. Even my 2002 Jetta 1.8T includes this and it also has 6 airbags, abs, traction control and EBD also. Safety features and German quality is the reason I bought a VW over a Toyota and will always do so.

  3. Cullen :
    This is a great technology to have and glad VW has included this in everyone of its vehicles. And has had it for quite some time. Even my 2002 Jetta 1.8T includes this and it also has 6 airbags, abs, traction control and EBD also. Safety features and German quality is the reason I bought a VW over a Toyota and will always do so.

    Where did you find the info/confirmation of the fact that your 2002 Jetta has the gas override system? I need something to prove to my friend that the 2002 Jetta does contain that system… Can you reply to my email (301610@gmail.com)? THANKS!

  4. Hi, Jay,

    Where did you find the info/confirmation of the fact that the VWs have the gas override system? I need that for the 2002 Jetta or Passat. Can you refer me to the specific page of the service manual or owner’s manual that says that? I need something to prove to my friend that the 2002 Jetta does contain that system… MANY THANKS!

  5. Hi Jay, I just purchased a 2011 volkswagen jetta. I like the car, I just have a question about the gas pedal. When I press it down it stops at a certain point, then if I press a little harder it will go down further which puts the car into high gear. Is that normal? nothing seams wrong with the gas pedal at all, it just stop mid way down then you can push just a little harder then goes further down. I hope that I am explaining this right. Thanks for any feed back you can give me on this

  6. Great review! You actually overviewed some nice news in this post. I came across it by using Google and I’ve got to admit that I already subscribed to the RSS, will be following you on my iphone 🙂

Leave a Reply

