How to get Advance Bluetooth 9W3 on a car with basic bluetooh 9W2

A few people had voiced their frustrated with the fact that the GTI, Golf and Jetta SE with Navigation and bluetooth do not do all the neat tricks that the other cars with that option combo can do.  Just incase you dont know what the “issue” is let me break it down for you: Volkswagen installs different bluetooth systems in their cars.  The Golf, GTI, and non TDI Jettas get a more basic system that allows for music streaming. while the Tiguan, Eos, Passat, CC, and Touareg get a more advance system that allows for voice dialing (albeit no music streaming) and it interacts with the car’s navigation system as covered in episode 2 of my series.

So what is a 9W2 owner to do? well one intrepid owner took the matter in his own hands and found a way to make it work and made a handy PDF to show the rest of us how to do it.

click this link and download the PDF: jsw9w3upgrade Thanks to TDi club member aenea for the write up

UPDATE: here another successful conversion : VWvortex.com thread

Posted on December 10, 2009, in blackberry, bluetooth, CC, Diesel, EOs, Golf, GTI, How to, Iphone, Jetta, Navigation, Passat, Radio, TDI, Tech, Tiguan, Touareg, Volkswagen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the post Jay! Do you have any info on retro-fitting the 9W3 in a car w/ no bluetooth? I have an early production 2009 CC, with RNS 510, steering wheel controls… and no dealer knowledgable enough (and willing) to install 9W3!

  2. Why is all VW stuff like this. I’m cool with 2 different types of bluetooth. But why have features on the “low” version that aren’t on the “high” version? That makes no sense.

  3. Jay, do you know if this 9w3 upgrade can be done with the RCD-510 headunit.

  4. Thank You Jay,
    You do great work and are a great service to alot of Volkswagen owners out there. Volkswagen doesn’t pay you enough, I wish you were my salesman. LOL

  5. jay,
    huge thanks for this info… i was a bit let down when i got my 2010 GTI with the RNS-510 and could not dial my 3Gs… I’ve downloaded the info and I’m calling my VW dealership to order the parts but what software is use to comunicate with the VAG-CON?

  6. Hello is guy. posibe to connect an iphone 3g with bluetooth premium of vw?

    The bluetooth premium needs that the cellular one is (rsap) in españa has not been obtained.

    Thank you

  7. paco :Hello guy. is posibe to connect an iphone 3g with bluetooth premium of vw?
    The bluetooth premium needs that the cellular one is (rsap) in españa has not been obtained.
    Thank you

  8. Thanks for this guide – can you give a ballpark figure how much the upgraded controller and antenna that are needed for this would cost? Also can you clarify, if I have a 2010GTI without the nav system, and I perform this upgrade to bluetooth high, will I then have both phone and music streaming functionality?

  9. Hi Jay,
    We just bought the 2010 sportwagen TDI with nav. The system is not enhanced which I thought I was getting. I am now working with the dealer on fixing the problem, but they don’t seem to know much. They told me they don’t know which cars have the enhanced system until they get them in.
    I’m hoping the system can be upgraded. If I tell them to follow your upgrade will that be the same as the enhanced bluetooth?

  10. 2010 golf wagon, highline, tdi, canadian delivered:
    –it comes with rcd-510 radio
    –if i upgrade to BT 9w3 will calls show up on radio touch screen or instrument panel displays?
    –if i upgarde to BT 9w3 can i sync my fone book throught the radio touch screen or instrument dispaly ?
    –if i upgrade to the BT 9w3 can I handsfree dial out from the MFSW or radio touch screen?
    Thanks!

    • williams

      Yes to all of your questions

      • This answer is only partially correct. The RCD-510 will NOT display any phone information, nor will it let you make calls from the touch screen. The MFI will do that, but only with a small VAG-COM code change. Voice dialling works beautifully, but Bluetooth streaming is missing!

  11. What a mess VW has created with the different bluetooth capabilities- 9w2 and 9w3 high, low, and whatever else they put in their cars. They have made it impossible for the customer to know what they are getting. I don’t even think most sales people know! I have never been so frustrated after buying a new car! Do you know if vw is going to rectify the discrepancies. Do you know if the audi a3 has this issue.

  12. I’m in the same boat as Pete with my purchase of the 2010 Sportwagen. Will the dealer make this fix? Also you mention with the fix music streaming is lost. Does that mean my Ipod MDI interface won’t work? VW has made a huge mess of this!

    • The MDI interface works fine, you can control your iPod from the RCD-510 touchscreen. Because of this I really don’t miss Bluetooth streaming all that much. But you are right, VW made quite a mess out of this!

  13. Hi Nathalie, Other than the fact I wasn’t told of the issue beforehand, the dealer has been trying to make it right. Vw doesn’t have a fix. If you do the upgrade in this thread it will void the warranty- not only on the bluetooth but anything it is connected to (the nav and everything it controls, which I think is everything). They have told me they may be able to reprogram the 9W2 to do voice command and contacts, but not with nav. functions. Vw needs to develop a fix that gives the customer all the features they promise on their web site and literature!! call customer service and file a complaint!!!

  14. Ok! I’ll talk with my dealer and see what can be done. I will let you know!

  15. After talking to customer service, tecs, and the dealer, they are going to replace my 9w2 with a 9w3 without affecting my warranty! I hope other people in the same boat can work it out with their dealer and customer service. It wasn’t easy, but be persistent. They acknowledge the problem exists, but I don’t think they have come up with a plan to make it right. I think they are hoping most people won’t complain. If everything turns out the way they say it will, I will be very happy!!

    • Pete – has your auto been upgraded to the 9W3? Does it work without any problems? How long did it take for the dealer to install. What model controller do you have? C? E? I have a new (one week old) 2010, Golf TDI, with the 9W2 and the Nav System. In advance, thanks for your response.

    • Pete
      I have a 2010 TDI wagon Golf std transmission and I had the dealer upgrade my bluetooth to 9w3, the voice commands work fine, I am however unable to download my contacts in the MFD as amatter of fact none of the phone function in the MFD work. were you able to get that feature to work and if so what codes were reprogrammed

  16. Just installed a enhanced bluetooth 9w3 in my wifes 2010 Golf TDI with factory nav and 9w2 bluetooth. I purchased the new controller from the ebay seller from poland for $345 plus $50 shipping and received it in 6 days. I was prepared to recode the multi function steering wheel controls but didn’t need to, the latest controller is a “E” version which was just released in December of 2009. I simply removed the existing 9w2 controller from under the passengers seat and pluged the new E version controller into the harness. Everything seem to work less the overhead buttons.

  17. Hello is jay, possible to connect iphone 3g with bluetooth premium + rns 510 of vw?

  18. I just got the 2010 Sportwagen TDI, I have the RSN510 with Nav and bluetooth streaming but no MDI. If I add the MDI what will that add besdies ipod music info? Anything for the phone like phone book, dial pad? or do I need to update the 9W2 to the 9W3 bluetooth?

    Do you still have bluetooth streaming with the 9W3?

    What’s the cost of the 9W3 vs the MDI?

  19. I just got the 2010 Sportwagen TDI, I have the RSN510 with Nav and bluetooth (9W2) streaming but no MDI. If I add the MDI what will that add besdies ipod music info? Anything for the phone like phone book, dial pad? or do I need to update the 9W2 to the 9W3 bluetooth?
    Do you still have bluetooth streaming with the 9W3?
    What’s the cost of the 9W3 vs the MDI?

    • David I am in the same boat. This week they added the MDI cable (had to do it in the glove box instead of the center console unfortunately) and I would say this is not the way you want to go. This only gives you control of your playlists etc from the ipod.

      It will do nothing for your phone controls. You will still only have the ability to use the mic and speakers but have to control everything else (except simply answering the phone cy clicking on the steering wheel button) from your device.

      In order to get phone control on your nav system, you need to switch from 9w2 to 9w3. I have sent the pdf above (GREAT STUFF BTW – Jay and this site are a godsend) to my dealer to help them figure out what they are going to do to help me.

      I am hoping they can do what Pete’s (above) dealer is doing and I will report back here as I know more.

  20. Martin Coutts

    Hi, I hope you can help me I have just taken delivery in the UK of a Passat Highline Plus which comes with a multi function stearing wheel a RNS310 and a VW bluetooth touch adaptor. There is no ‘voice dialing’ facility available although there is a button on the steering wheel. Do you know if I can update the system using the 9W3 as described in your PDF or can I replace the RNS310 with a RNS 510? Any advice will be appreciated as it seems mad that I do not get voice dialing with what is meant to be the top spec Passat in the UK. Thanks

  21. Pete – any update on your adventures with your dealer on the 9w3?

  22. Hi, I have a question, I change my 6 disc radio on my cc and install a rns 510 but now I cannot change the song from my wheel controls, and doesnt show the music info on the MFD what should I do

Leave a Reply

