Volkswagen introduces new radio for the MKIV

Volkswagen accessories just introduced this bad boy, it is meant to bring the 99-05  Generation Jetta, GTI, Golf and Passat up to modern times with features such as:

MP3/WMA playback

USB connection

AUX imput

Volk-L hands free bluetooth

and A2DP bluetooth streaming

all of these are built in into a single unit that looks like  the radio fitted to the 2006 and newer models. It is on sale now for an MSRP of $441 sounds like a bargain to us.

Posted on December 3, 2009, in bluetooth, First look, Golf, GTI, Jetta, Passat, Radio, Tech, Tiguan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Ugh it looks cheap and awful with those silver buttons. Just like the ones used for the City Golf/Jetta and single CD unit.

  2. Does this work with the Monsoon audio setup? Also I’m curious as to what that display is capable of – it looks very basic, but then again my Monsoon has a bigger display with very little purpose.

  3. Also curious about compatibility w/ the Monsoon audio system. It would be a tempting replacement even in my relatively high mileage GTI. A2DP streaming, Aux input and USB really bring it into the future. Right now I’m pushing audio from my iPhone’s headphone out into a cassette deck adapter! Cheap and effective, but boy would I like to get rid of that ratty wire hanging out of my dash.

  4. I have a 2002 Golf (with Monsoon) and this could be a nice upgrade for me. I searched the vwvortex forums for links on where to buy this, and I cannot find it. Could you please point me to a site where I may buy this?
    Thanks!

  5. Anne Karlovitz

    does anyone know where I can obtain a user manual for the volk l basic hands free model # IJM-035-157-AQ, I just upgraded my 2003 jetta but have no idea how to opperate.
    Tanks,
    Anne

  6. I’m curious as to how this can be installed ie. will the wiring harness need to be upgraded, and how difficult is this to do? I have a 2005 GTI 1.8T with a stock deck, 6 disc changer and Monsoon. I see in the earlier post that the Monsoon is utilized and that’s great but how about the 6 disc changer? Not too big of a deal if you can’t but a little annoying I suppose. Also how much would a dealership charge to install this new deck if it needs a wiring harness changeout? I suppose I could go ask a dealer, but I’m here so I’m asking.

Leave a Reply

