Step by step guide to set up Bluetooth on your Volkswagen

Volkswagen offers 2 different types of Bluetooth connectivity for 2010 (NOT counting the Routan’s Uconnect). If you have a Jetta (S, SE, Wolfsburg or Sportwagen), a Golf  or a GTI you have what VW calls “Bluetooth connectivity 9W2”. Jetta SEL and TDI sedan, Passat, CC, Tiguan, Touareg, or Eos then you have “Bluetooth with voice controls 9W3” and below are the step by step instructions for each one.

IMG_0259

“bluetooth Connectivity” 9W2

is Volkswagen’s basic option. It allows users to communicate with their Bluetooth system through the buttons installed within easy reach of the driver. It does not include voice commands.

Initial Setup – “Pairing

1. Switch on the customer’s Bluetooth-enabled cellular phone and the vehicle’s ignition. (This makes the Bluetooth “visible.” You must pair the system and phone within the five minutes it remains visible.)
2. Activate the Bluetooth feature in the phone and initiate a search for Bluetooth devices or audio enhancements.
3. Select ‘VW UHV’
4. Enter the Bluetooth pass code ‘0000’ on the phone. (On some phones, you will need to confirm the connection separately.)
5. Optional: To allow the phone and Bluetooth to connect automatically, set the Bluetooth system as an “authorized device” in the phone’s Bluetooth menu.
6. The Bluetooth system is now paired with the phone and ready for use. The pass code is not needed to connect the devices again.

Please see the user guides of the Bluetooth system and your mobile phone for more detailed descriptions.
Place a Call
1. To place a call, enter the number on your phone, or find the contact in your phone’s phonebook.
2. Press the green call button on your phone. The phone will immediately “ring” through the Volkswagen sound system.
Answer a Call
1. When connected to the Bluetooth system, an incoming call will mute the car radio and the ringtone will sound over the car speakers (if enabled).
2. To answer the call, press once on the phone button. You can now speak hands-free in your car and hear your call over your car speakers.
Ignore a Call
To ignore an incoming call, press and hold the phone button for more than 2 seconds.

End a Call
To end a call, press the phone button once.

Switch to Private Mode
To switch to private mode during a call, press and hold the phone button for more than 2 seconds.

Stream Music
If the phone supports “Advanced Audio Distribution Profile” (A2DP), music stored on the phone can be played over the radio or radio navigation system through the car speakers.

1. On the cell phone, select the music playback mode (such as “play via Bluetooth”), then select the device “VW UHV.”
2. Press the button on the radio or radio navigation system to select the media menu.
3. On the phone’s music menu, select the desired songs/playlist and press “play.” The music will begin The music plays on the Volkswagen sound system. When receiving an incoming call or placing a call, the music will pause and the phone call audio will be heard over the car speakers. When the call ends, the music will restart.

“Bluetooth with voice control” 9W3

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with the Navigation/Infotainment system, the phonebook and other operations will be displayed. See the user’s manual for details on those features.
Initial Setup – “Pairing”
1. Switch on the customer’s Bluetooth-enabled cellular phone and the vehicle’s ignition. (This makes the Bluetooth “visible.” You must pair the system and
phone within the five minutes it remains visible.)

2. Activate the Bluetooth feature in the phone and initiate a search for Bluetooth devices or audio enhancements.

3. Select ‘VOLKSWAGEN’

4. Enter the Bluetooth pass code ‘0000’ on the phone. (On some phones, you will need to confirm the connection separately.)

5. Optional: To allow the phone and Bluetooth to connect automatically, set the Bluetooth system as an “authorized device” in the phone’s Bluetooth menu.

6. The Bluetooth system is now paired with the phone and ready for use. The pass code is not needed to connect the devices again.
For more detailed descriptions, please see the user guides of the Bluetooth system and cellular phone.

Place a Call
1. To place a call, press and hold the “microphone” button until you hear the beep.

2. Release the button and speak the command “dial number.”

3. When the system says “number please,” speak the number clearly and slowly, one digit at a time.

4. To quit before the call is completed, press the “phone” button on your steering wheel You can also place a call by speaking the name, if it has been stored in the Bluetooth phonebook along with the number. See the Bluetooth user’s manual for more details.

Redial
1. To redial the last number you called, start by pressing and holding the “microphone” button until you hear the beep

2. Then release the “microphone” button and say “redial.” The last number you dialed will be automatically dialed.

Answer a Call
When connected to the Bluetooth system, an incoming call will mute the car radio and the ringtone will sound over the car speakers (if enabled). The number will display on the navigation system screen; if the number is in the phonebook, the name will also display.

1. To answer the call, press once on the steering wheel phone button.

2. To ignore the call without answering, press once on the steering wheel phone button.

Ignore a Call
When connected to the Bluetooth system, an incoming call will mute the car radio and the ringtone will sound over the car speakers (if enabled). The number will display on the navigation system screen; if the number is in the phonebook, the name will also display.

To ignore the call without answering, press once on the steering wheel phone button.

End a Call
To end a call, press once on the steering wheel phone button.

Switch to Private Mode
To switch to private mode during a call, press and hold the phone button for more than 2 seconds.

Play Phone Book
1. To play all the names stored in the vehicle’s phone book, press and hold the “microphone” button until you hear the beep.

2. Release the button and speak the command “Play phone book.” The system will read the list of names stored in the phone book.

Store Name and Number
The Bluetooth phone book can store up to 50 entries.
1. To store a number, press and hold the “microphone” button until you hear the beep.

2. Release the button and speak the command “Store Name.”

3. The system will ask you for the name and the number.

4. Speak the name, then say “store name.”

5. Speak the number clearly and slowly, one digit at a time, then say “store number.”

You can also do this using the controls on the Radio Navigation system. See the Bluetooth user’s manual for more details.

Select Name
1. To select a stored name and number from the Bluetooth phone book, press  the “microphone” button until you hear the beep.

2. Release the button and speak the command “Select name.”

3. The system will say “Name please.”

4. Speak the name (as stored in the phone book), then say the command “Call.”

5. The system will say “The number is being dialed.”

Delete a Name
1. To delete a name from your Bluetooth phone book, press and hold the “microphone” button until you hear the beep.

2. Release the button and speak the command “Delete name.”

3. The system will ask “Name please.”

4. Speak the name (as stored in the phone book). The name will be deleted from the phone book.

Posted on October 19, 2009, in bluetooth, CC, EOs, Golf, GTI, How to, Navigation, Passat, Radio, Tiguan, Touareg, Volkswagen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 64 Comments.

  1. Hi,

    I have a Tiguan from october 2009 with the radiosystem RCD510. I would like install a bluettoth interface for working with my iphone, the RCD 510 and the multifonction driving.
    What is the serial number of the bluetooth interface ? the 1Z0 035 729 C is OK ?
    Can you help me ? Thank you verry much.

    PS, i’m not very good in english, i’m french 🙂

  2. I like this article! Will come again next time for sure, thank again

  3. I’m looking at a 2010 Passat Wagon to replace my 2007 Passat Wagon that I’ve already placed 113,000 miles on…

    As you can tell I’m on the road A LOT! I have two cell phones, a work Blackberry and a personal iPhone. Will the RNS-510 nav system pair two phones?

    Thanks!

  4. having trouble pairing my 2009 CC with Blackberry Storm bluetooth, any suggestions?

    • I am also having trouble pairing my blackberry with my 2009 CC. My phone never locates the device/car. I went to dealership in town and the salesman just kept telling me about entering the “code” but from reading the instructions above, I would say that the car is not transmitting, if that is the correct term. My blackberry found the salesman’s phone so it is not the phone that is not working. The salesman could not resolve the issue and this is one of the options I loved about the car.

  5. If only 50 contacts are saved in the phonebook,
    how is itdetermined which are kept and which are not?

    Where is the actual microphone? In the steering wheel?

  6. I have a 2010 Tiguan. I paired my Blackberry Bold with my car and the phone part is working correctly. I am trying to set up BT-Audio on my radio. Not sure exactly what type of radio system it is other than the touchscreen model. I have verified my phone is A2DP compatible but don’t know what else to try. Any suggestions?

  7. I have the new Tiguan and tried to activate the my phone, it does not want to pair,”cannot find device”

    please help
    thank you

  8. I have a new phone and want to now connect this one with my bluetooth in my 2010 Jetta. It worked fine with my blackberry but now my new phone cant find my car’s BT. What do I do?

  9. for car speakers, i use Kicker Audio. i think Kicker is the best brand of car speaker~-“

  10. when it comes to car radios, i prefer to use either Alpine or Pioneer. they are really great brands,*”

  11. I had my iphone synced with the car system at delivery. It worked for a month, now it doesn’t “see” my phone. The bluetooth is on. I haven’t changed any settings. It just no longer works. I tried the “setup button,” but the phone is not an option. When I press the “Phone” button, there’s just an international “no” symbol through the phone, and the phone’s on and working. 2010 EOS.

  12. Hi there

    Sorry for the basic question but i have the integrated RNS-510 in my MK5 Golf GTI. Do i need to but a seperate bluetooth kit to pair my blackberry and iPhone4?
    D

  13. Hello,

    I recently got a 2010 Jetta TDI and love it so far. My salesman helped me to setup my bluetooth when I picked up the car. About 3 weeks after purchase, I had an MDI jack put into the car. After installation of the new jack, I plugged in my iPhone (3gs) and selected the iPod app to listen to my music through my radio. Everything worked great except that my bluetooth function no longer works. I have restarted my phone, turned off and on the bluetooth on the phone, and tried to re-sync my iPhone to the car. I cannot find anything in the menu about bluetooth and hitting the phone button does absolutely nothing. I also followed the directions in the manual. Why isn’t it working? Anything else I can try?

    • Faye,
      My CC came with the iPod adapter in the glovebox. That works fine, but my BT Audio will not connect. I’ve read about others with BT Audio connectivity issues, but no one mentioned if they had extra jacks.
      M

  14. i have purchased a used 2009 cc vr6 4 motion… how can i tell if there is any bluetooth module in the vehicle? I have used an iphone, an lg, and even my laptop to “discover” any bluetooth signal in the cc and none of the devices have ever found the cc…..

  15. Hello! I just bought a 2008 Eos that I am absolutely in love with. I have the iPod adapter in the console, which has been charging my iPod but the stereo system does not recognize it. I read somewhere that you have to press Aux, but I don’t have an Aux button. My phone is also not recognizing the car’s bluetooth. Any suggestions on either?

    Thanks!

  16. We have a 2010 EOS Komfort, yet we seem to not have the 9W3 Bluetooth. Is it possible that we have 9W2? Our car does not have Navigation. We were trying to use the Bluetooth as a true “hands free” system but the car does not respond when we press the microphone button and try to speak a voice command to dial a number. Any information appreciated.

  17. I just a used 2009 Jetta. It has bluetooth as part of the stereo/radio.

    Where can I get a manual (and what do I ask for?) for the system?

    Where is the microphone is his car?

    Can an external mic be hooked up?
    Thanks

  18. Bob Wettermann

    Hi Jay:

    Should my Apple iPhone 3GS phone list be able to be “sucked in” to the VW 9W2?

  19. John Macfarlane

    I have just bought a Passat Highline plus. It has a touch adaptor, but although the mobile, car and touch adaptor are all paired the phone volume does not come through the speakers. I am waiting for the disc for the sat nav to be replaced and wandered if this is why I have this problem

  20. I have a 2011 GTI. I took it in for 10K service, and now my Bluetooth speaks only German. Obviously, my English voice commands no longer work. I called the dealer where the service was done and they are mystified. The dash display is in English – just the voice command is in German, so I cannot make calls using voice command. Can you help?

  21. where do I find the pin number?

  22. This really gets to me. I simply wish I could be able to write as
    amorously as you.

  23. I have a tiguan 1210. The stereo is rns 510. The blue works with RNS 510. But I cannot get my contacts on the RNS 510. Also can see any phone listing on the dazboard. Do have to change the bluetooth Moule. If so which one?

  24. Really worked….!!! Thanks for the nice effort…

  25. To answer a call “press once on the steering wheel phone button”, to ignore a call without answering “press once on the steering wheel phone button”…??!?!?!

  26. Abdurrazzag Ben Yousef

    I have Passat 2009, and I couldn’t pair my iphone 6 with it a message appear saying “not compatable phone”

  27. I have a question – how does the jetta 2010 and Pantech smartphone pair up?

  28. Hello,

    I have a RCD510 (passat cc). After upgraded my Galaxy Note 3 to 5.0 Lollipop i am still able to connect the phone to my car. The problem is 30secs/1minute after it loses signal.

  29. Hello,

    I have Golf TDI 2012. I can’t find VW Bluetooth in my smart phone (Sony Z2) to pair it..what should i do????

  30. I just bought a 2015 Jetta TDI SE. Had no issues paring my iPhone 6plus to the car’s Bluetooth. The issue I now have, however, is EVERY TIME I get in the car and turn it on, it immediately starts playing music on my phone no matter what I had the touchscreen radio set to. If it was playing FM when I last was in the car, it reverts back to music on phone. Any idea how to make it stop doing this without turning Bluetooth off?

  31. I have a 2014 Passat with BT. I have two questions. How does one turn off “private calling” on the VW connection? I’ve used the phone countless times in the past, and it worked fine – -then all of sudden it switched to “private calling.”

    This AM, I got into the car and it paired up. However, the phone menu appeared on the screen and showed my number . . with seconds ticking away as it there was an active call, which there was not. It stopped the radio from playing – so I finally turned off the phone for the ride duration. What’s up with that?

    Thanks.

    Linda T.

  32. I have a 2007 vw eos its not connecting to my bluetooth on my galaxy s6. I turned on my bt & the ignition withn 5 minutes not luck. Can you tell me what else to do.

    • Did you ever receive a response on how to get your blue tooth connected for your 2007 EOS. Did you have to purchase something.

  33. When connected to the Bluetooth system, an incoming call will mute the car radio and the ringtone will sound over the car speakers (if enabled) … cspeakersb.wordpress.com

  34. Hi,

    I followed the instruction but it doesn’t work , the Bluetooth device for VW didny apply in my phone . (Been going through YouTube instruction too)

    How can i solve this ?

  35. i have the phone button on the steering wheel but the Bluetooth sync does not show up in the mfi. How can I tell if I actually have the module installed? I have a 2009 Tiguan.
    The Sirius module is under the passenger seat.

  36. when I receive a call whilst connected on car VW Polo Bluetooth it doesn’t read
    the exact contact that is calling. For instance If Mike is calling it wont display that but just a random number. how to fix this

  37. Logan Woolliscroft

    Hello, I have a 2009 VW Golf 2.0 GT TDI and I was wanting some help with me answering phone calls, because when I answer, I can hear them speaking, but they can’t hear me for some reason! If anyone has experienced this before or knows a solution could you let me know please 🙂

  38. I have a 2011 VW Touran I tried to connect my phones(samsung galaxy tab 7 & blackberry 9720)to the car bluetooth but non of them wants to connect can’t find my car device,the steering wheel have all buttons for bluetooth but I really don’t understand why isn’t working….can you please help with all the settings

  39. I have VW Passat 2009 with no Bluetooth module installed , I can’t do pairing
    It has RCD 510 with Bluetooth audio option existing.
    The phone button on the RCD 510 is only making silent volume .. And the phone button on the steering control is not working …
    No kit installed below the front passenger chair.
    Please advise how to operate the Bluetooth.

  40. Hello i have iPhone 5s and I can’t connect to my Passat cc the car is finding the phone then when I click to connect it, it’s saying I can’t connect it because it’s non compatible. Sorry for the writhing hopefully understand what I mean. Someone else got that issue?

  41. I accidently put my car in private call mode. How do I put it back in regular mode?

  42. How did I add my name or identifier to my paired bluetooth phone list so that it can be different from my husband’s cell on the list to select to pair (he has the same make & model of cell phone & we want to list/connect both)? We couldn’t find a way to enter a name.
    It’s a 2016 Touareg.

  43. Hi

    is my Golf 5 TDI 1.9 2006 Model,Bluetooth compatible?

  44. I am also having trouble pairing my Iphone 5s with my2010passat TSI. My phone never locates the device/car. I went to local agent in Alexandria Egypt and the technical engineers just kept telling me about entering the “code” but from reading the instructions above, but this car can only pair android and old Nokia models but not equipped fot Iphone I would say that Samsong s5 was paired sucessfully., My Iphone was seen by the car but gives message it cannt be paired coz it is incompatible. They told me it needs extra module I have to buy. The engineer could not resolve the issue and this is one of the options I loved about the car

  45. Hi, I have purchased CC 2009. My phone is Sony Z2 and it didnt find my CC via bluetooth. I tried to find other devices with my Z2 and everithing was good. CC find the phone but when I push connect, CC write “phone is not compatible”. How I can connect my Z2 to CC

  46. Melissa Robak

    Can I change the ringtone on 2010 tiguan

  47. عندي جولف 2012 مش راضي يعرف تلفوني على البلوتوث لازم اجيب تلفون المطلوب نفس الي بقاعده البلوتوث الموجوده ولا اي تلفون يدعم بلوتوث بزبط ارجو الرد

  48. Thank you, my 2011 Volkswagen Passat was showing “no paired phone” and the 0000 pin was all I needed; this site was the only one I found that said that simple step.

  49. I have a 2007 Passat 2.0 gas. My manual says I have blue tooth. Gives directions, turn on blue tooth on phone, start engine, press the phone button on steering column twice within 5 seconds.
    My phones blue tooth never sees the VW UHV.
    I’ve got two speakers in the same spot, near my sun roof controls.
    Frustrating!

  50. i have 2014 polo vivo I still fail to connect my phone (sony xperia) with Bluetooth pls help

  51. hi,

    I can not pair my iphone with my golf 6 (2011 – rcd 310) and I have realized that that is because I do not have a Bluetooth equipment installed in my car , I don’t know why. Could you please tell me what equipment and cables do I need to buy? I am planning on changing also my rcd310 to a 8″ gps sat nav car dvd player radio.is this audio compatible with my golf?

    thank you in advance!

  52. We recently bought 2010 Jetta a used car, I couldn’t connect my phone through Bluetooth, in my mobile it shows no Bluetooth device found.
    Kindly help me to resolve this issue.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

